Donate Now

2017 President’s Reception for Donors and Scholars

Dr. Mary J.C. Hendrix `74 with Daniel Testa- Captain Charles Hendrix Scholarhip recipient Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

SUF Executive Vice President Monica Lingenfelter greets donors Joan and Erdem Ergin. Erdem created the Carole Ergin Scholarship Fund in memory of his late wife. Sam Levitan Photography

Students check in to the event Sam Levitan Photography

Sara Lueck `67 and Betsy Newlin `78 greet each other. Sara, along wth her husband Al `67 created the Lueck-Taylor Football Scholarship, the Monte Cater Silver Anniversary Football Scholarship, the Shepherd Ram Common Man Scholarship, the Walter Barr and J. Michael Jacobs Football Scholarship, and the SU Offensive Line Scholarship. Betsy created the David and Betsy Newlin Scholarship with her husband.

Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Miss WV Tamia Hardy `17 poses for a picture before speaking and performing. Tamia received multiple scholarships during her time at Shepherd: Miss WV Pageant, Frada Fine Family Scholarship, the Burkhart Scholarship, the Business Adminstration Scholarship, Shaw Leadership Scholarship, the Ollie Lightfoot Tolbert Scholarship, and the Michael P. Riccards Scholarship. Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Scholars (and twins) Jillian and Garrett O’Connell talk with their family. Sam Levitan Photography

Shepherd University Foundation President Chris Colbert welcomes the crowd. Sam Levitan Photography

Executive Vice President Monica Lingenfelter congratulates the scholars and urges them to “pay it forward” in the future. Sam Levitan Photography

Dave Newlin `76, a Shepherd University Foundation Director Emeritus, speaks on his legacy at Shepherd as a representative of those who have created privately funded scholarships.

Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Dr. Mary J.C. Hendrix `74, 16th president of Shepherd University, hosted the event. Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Senior Myles Humphrey offers his thanks to those who give money to fund Foundation Scholarships. Myles is a recipient of the Florence and Velma Shaw Scholarship, as well as the Shepherd Annual Fund Scholarship. Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

Senior Grace Guiney sings “Shall We Gather At the River” from Aaron Copland’s Old American Songbook. Grace is the recipient of several Foundation scholarships, including: Alice Wright Frank Memorial Scholarship, Dr. Cornelia Hoch-Ligeti Scholarship, Florence Shaw Education Scholarship, Guy Frank Emeritus Scholarship, Margaret Good Music Scholarship, The Shepherd Fund Scholarship, Elizabeth R. Tabler Scholarship, and Edmund and Lelia Hoffmaster Scholarship. Sam Levitan Photography

Tamia Hardy performs a lyrical piece to Audra Day’s “Rise Up”. Sam Levitan Photography

Sam Levitan Photography

(l to r) Amy Corbin, Jacob Corbin, Foundation Scholar Kayla Corbin, Foundation Scholar Constant Amoa Jr., Constant Amoa Sr., and Foundation Scholars Jillian and Garrett O’Connell

Dean Ann Legreid (l) and Art Professor Rhonda Smith (r) pose for a photo

Foundation Scholar Claire Tryon (c) with parents Arden (l) and Ed Tryon (r)

Foundation Scholars Hailey Sparks (c) and Molly Henry (r) with Ashlynn Blyth

Foundation Scholar Deonte Glover (l) with family Cheyenne, Robert, and Charmaine Glover

Dangelo Niler (l), Kathlene Striano (c), and Myles Humphrey (r)

(l to r) Marie and George Clark, Foundation Scholar Daniel Testa, Dawn and Anthon Testa, Foundation Scholar Liliana Nuss, and Kerry Nuss

Foundation Scholars Michael Parsons (l) and Nicholas Ferony (c) with Alissa Adams (r)

(l to r) Foundation Scholar Nevada Tribble, Foundation Scholar Seone Goode, Tessa Chafin, and Noah Hertert

Foundation Scholar Russell Goodacre (c) with parents Russ (l) and Jean Goodacre (r)

Shannon Ingram (l) and Foundation Scholar Jasmine Ingram (r)

(l to r) Sharon Niedringhaus, Foundation Scholar Carol Niedringhaus, Mary Gravosky, and Foundation Scholar Grace Guiney

Foundation Scholars Owen Elliott (c) and Keara Heck (r) with Executive Director of Development Sherri Janelle (l)

Foundation Scholar Cora Kowalksi (c) with Tricia Myers (l) and Shelby Kowalksi (r)

Dangelo Niler- Boyle Football Scholarship Recipient Sam Levitan Photography

Jack (r) and Pat Egle (l) with John and Anna Egle Scholarship recipient Alexander Nguyen Sam Levitan Photography

Joan (l) and Erdem (r) Ergin with Carole Ergin Scholarhip recipient Rhonda Jenkins-Rinaldi (c)

Faculty Excellence recipients Dr. Keith Alexander (Washington Chair of Ethics) and Dr. Timothy Nixon (Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching) Sam Levitan Photography

Honors Program students: (l to r) Nicholas Ferony, Sophie Palmer, Hannah French, Honors Director Mark Cantrell, Daniel Testa, Imani Major, James Smith (back row) Heidi Reichert, Carol Niedringhaus, and Claire Tryon (front row) Sam Levitan Photography

Recipients of the James and Katherine Moler Academic Scholarship pose with Shepherd University Foundation board directors and directors emeriti (l to r): Associate Professor of English Heidi Hanrahan, Claire Tryon, Hailey Sparks, Ashley Fritsch, Christopher Hussion, Kevin Turner, Linnea Meyer, Erica Robinson, Christopher Colbert (back row); Al Lueck, Betty Lowe, and David Newlin (front row)

Shepherd Fund recipients (l to r): Myles Humphrey, Octavius Thomas, Grace Guiney, Linnea Meyer, Liliana Nuss, and Director of Annual Giving Stacy McFarland Sam Levitan Photography