Donate Now

WISH 2017 Grant Award Ceremony

The 2017 WISH Grant Awards were presented to the following group (l to r): Dr. Ann Wendle and Mary Beth Myers , Student Veteran Transition and Support Initiative, Carolyn Zdziera, Executive Director of Community Alternatives to Violence, Stacie Rohn, CPO of Boys & Girls Club of the Eastern Panhandle, and Rebecca Kamp, Dr. Arend Holtslag, and Desiree Rose, Model United Nations

The beautiful flower arrangement was provided Mark Harding of Flower Haus.

WISH member and 2017 nonprofit grant recipient Stacie Rohn, CPO of Boys & Girls Club of the Eastern Panhandle, chats before the program with member and Jefferson Security Bank President and CEO Cindy Kitner

Sponsor John Wolff and daughter Emma are greeted by Foundation Executive Vice President Monica Lingenfelter

(l to r) WISH members Susan Snowden, Chris Zelenka, Maria Lorensen, and Joy Lewis greet one another

Sherri Janelle, Executive Director, Development: Leadership Gifts and Prospect Management of the Shepherd University Foundation and founding member, chats with Dr. Mary J.C. Hendrix, Shepherd University President and WISH member, before the grant award ceremony

Grant Committee Member Sheila Vertino listens intently to a fellow attendee

Monica Lingenfelter gives opening remarks during the ceremony

Grant Committee Chair and founding member Bonnie Brannon presents the 2017 awards

The Shepherd University learning project recipients stand to be recognized

Stacie Rohn accepts one of the 2017 nonprofit awards on behalf of the Boys & Girls Club of the Eastern Panhandle

Members Jenny Sue Kohlhepp, Nancy Spensley, and Jody Carter participate in a motivational segment of the ceremony

Founding members Connie Barron Washburn and Wilma Elliott congratulate the Boys & Girls Club

(l to r) Grant Chair Bonnie Brannon, Membership Co-Chair Teresa McCabe, Membership Co-Chair Sherri Janelle, Advisory Committee member Carolyn Fleenor, Executive Vice President Monica Lingenfelter, Shepherd University President Dr. Mary J.C. Hendrix, Advisory Committee Member Bev Hughes, Advisory Committee Member Liz Oates, Advisory Committee Member Mary “Peachy” Staley, SUF Director of Donor Relations Meg Peterson, and sponsor John Wolff, Bronfman Rothschild Wealth Advisors

WISH Membership Co-Chair Teresa McCabe and Stacie Rohn, CPO of 2017 nonprofit recipient Boys & Girls Club of the Eastern Panhandle

2017 nonprofit recipient Carolyn Zdziera, Executive Director of Community Alternatives to Violence with Grant Committee Chair Bonnie Brannon

Student Rebecca Kamp, Dr. Arend Holtslag, and student Desiree Rose accept a 2017 Shepherd Learning Project grant on behalf of Model United Nations

Mary Beth Myers of Student Affairs and Dr. Ann Wendle, dean of students, accept the 2017 Shepherd Learning project grant on behalf of the Student Veterans Transition and Support Initiative

Some of the delicious goodies provided by the Shepherd University Catering department

Founding members Dotty Piccolomini and Quay Scott

Aerial view from the top of the beautiful atrium in the Erma Ora Byrd Nursing Building

Members gather after the ceremony for wine and hors d’oeuvres

Members Carol Kamensky, Nancy Spensley, Sara Lueck, and Jody Carter share a laugh

Founding member Anne Small enjoys the event

Dr. Ann Wendle chats with community member and friend of the Foundation Elisabeth Staro

WISH not only educates women about the needs and programs providing solutions for those needs in our community and Shepherd, but it also reunites old classmates and friends!